Sports Jamaica
your Premier Jamaican Sports Portal
Burton ready for big duel with Jaggan

Glenroy Sinclair, Assignment Coordinator

Although he might not be among the Jamaica team to challenge the Barbadians and Caymanians at next Monday's Caribbean Championship race meet at Dover, the usually consistent Tedroy 'Teddy' Burton has promised to upset the apple cart.

"The previous meet (Easter), not much was done ... but for this meet, we have spent a lot more time with our preparation. I will be ready for them," Burton told The Gleaner yesterday.

Originally from Treasure Beach in St Elizabeth, Burton is eagerly awaiting to renew rivalry with the in-form Peter Jaggan, who stole the spotlight at the previous meet.

Both drivers have set the stage for a big showdown in the Modified Production Two event.

"At the last meet, he got away from me, but this time it is not going to go like that. Different business this time," Burton cautioned.

In response, Jaggan, warned that Burton will have to come good to deny him the chequered flag in a clash which has been dubbed the 'Battle of the Hondas'.

"What the Horse P Crew been doing to the car seems to be working, so whosoever wants to challenge will have to come good," noted Jaggan.


In the meantime, over 30 persons were honoured last night by the Jamaica Race Drivers Club (JRDC) for their outstanding contribution to the sport over the past 20 years.

Among them were organisers who promoted circuit racing at Dover. They include Alfred Chen (deceased) - Motor Sports Ja Ltd; Donald Heaven - Mijam Promotions; Rory Jardine - Motor Racing Ja Ltd; Larry Henriques - Pro Champ Ltd and Donald Heaven - JRDC.

Foundation competitors: Errol Bowla, Victor Brown, Tony Charlie, Paul Chung, Guy Eaton, Wayne Foster, Noel Golding Sr, Gary Gregg, Neil Harvey, Christopher Issa, Deryck Kerr, Mike Lewis, Clinton 'Pinky' McGann, Peter Moodie Sr, Robert Moyston, Jeffery Panton, Claudia Rae, Peter Rae, John Ralston, Mark Roberts, George Sherwood, Steve Sirgany, Christopher Smellie, Ricky Vaz, Dwight Walters, Colin Whittingham.

Foundation Media: Winston Cassanova, Junior Dowie, David Lindo, Carmen Richards, Courtney Sargeant, Glenroy Sinclair, Gerald Tyndale and Esmond Williams.